Minding “the gap”

Today I listened to Ira Glass talk about the process of making creative work (audio with visual accompaniment here, original version here). It could not have reached me at a better time.

His description of a “gap” struck me as personally apt. At half a year out of school, I am smack in the middle of struggling to work, experiment, study, produce and still explore across a variety of photographic endeavors. I can only hope that his conclusion that going through a volume of work to fight your way through is also as accurate.

My blog has been gathering dust while I have been out doing, engaging any path that could possibly have a part in my development as an artist. It is time now for me to add to my activities that of sharing my experiences, failures, successes, lessons, thoughts and inspirations. Follow along (no, really, click that button in the lower right corner!), and be a part of the journey as well.